True Love Waits: Christopher O’Riley Plays Radiohead



  • Performer: Christopher O’Riley
  • Composer: Radiohead, Unspecified
  • Audio CD (June 10, 2003)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sony

audio clips

tack list

1. Everything In Its Right Place
2. Knives Out
3. Black Star
4. Karma Police
5. Let Down
6. Airbag
7. Subterranean Homesick Alien
8. Thinking About You
9. Exit Music (For A Film)
10. You
11. Bulletproof
12. Fake Plastic Trees
13. I Can’t
14. True Love Waits
15. Motion Picture Soundtrack

Rock bastardizations of classical music are as old as Kim Fowley’s–and ELP’s–Tchaikovsky tweaking “Nutrocker.” But classical interpretations of rock music have generally been something of a high-wire act. While most pop fare has strong melodic foundations for the soloist to build from, Christopher O’Riley has challenged himself here with the catalog of Radiohead, one of modern rock’s most acclaimed–and texturally complex–bands. O’Riley’s insightful gifts for interpretation (which have previously enlightened everything from Stravinsky to P.D.Q. Bach) produce a hypnotic, emotionally compelling listening experience here; O’Riley is a huge Radiohead fan, and that love courses through everything from the dreamy, bittersweet title track through the brooding loveliness of “Let Down.” Radiohead’s stock in trade is dense, multi-layered music that leans heavily on electronic processing for its moody sonic atmospherics; O’Riley’s evokes those complex textures with but a judicious use of the sustain peddles, a deft use of dissonance (as on “Knives Out”), and a rhythmically anxious left hand. Call them etudes for the post-modern age if you will, but O’Riley’s performances here largely achieve what all great interpretations strive for: New insight and enlightenment. –Jerry McCulley

“The only record by a Classical Artist ever to be awarded 4 Stars in Rolling Stone Magazine.”
“Also available for digital download at iTunes and”
Share →
Send this to a friend